How to use Mind Monitor to monitor sleep stage

Thai_amorn

How to use Mind Monitor to monitor sleep stage

Post by Thai_amorn »

Dear Experts,

I'm new to Mind Monitor as well as the EEG world but I'm quite interested to understand how to use Mind Monitor to analyze my sleep stages. I own MUSE S and in the MUSE app I can roughly see my where sleep stages are but the time scale is so rough. If there are "how to" topic already written then please share the link and I will try to study it myself. However, if there are none then I would like to request your help.

PS. I'm interested to understand how to identify REM-sleep as my doctor diagnosed me with REM-related sleep apnea and it is nice to track the effectiveness of CPAP treatment.

Thanks you.
James
Site Admin

Re: How to use Mind Monitor to monitor sleep stage

Post by James »

REM is easily identified by the noise on the RAW EEG signal.
Rapid Eye Movement will make all the RAW EEG signals look like junk, spiking up and down rapidly. During REM reading brainwaves will not be possible due to this interference, but the fact that you're in REM will be pretty obvious.
Thai_amorn

Post by Thai_amorn »

Dear James and others,

Thank you for your guidance. Just for the practice and understanding, can you circles the period that I'm in REM and deep sleep stages so I can use compare it later? I also tried to score REM periods ( also original graph).

Thank a lot
Attachments
my scoring of REM period
my scoring of REM period
Inked10421_rem_LI small.jpg (60.13 KiB) Viewed 2698 times
original screenshot
original screenshot
10421_org.png (196.36 KiB) Viewed 2699 times
Last edited by Thai_amorn on Sun Oct 03, 2021 7:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
James
Site Admin

Post by James »

You need to look at the raw not brainwaves
Thai_amorn

Post by Thai_amorn »

Here you go sir. the CSV is too large so I hope the link to dropbox is ok
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/m0harv8ke5em ... Hfq_a?dl=0
Thai_amorn

Post by Thai_amorn »