How Do I Analyze My Graphs?

devpatel17

How Do I Analyze My Graphs?

Post by devpatel17 »

Hey!

I am very new to the Mind Monitor app and the MUSE EEG. I am conducting research with the MUSE EEG and your app, Mind Monitor. I wanted to run a trial test first before I started conducting research on other participants. I did it for a couple of minutes, and graphed in Excel using the Macro and code. I am very confused on how to analyze it.

I researched and found that once the brain is scanned using the EEG, the raw data must be processed. Some programs include EEGLAB and Brainstorm, which are very complicated. I saw that Excel graphs, so I took that route instead. Is the graph processed data or is it still considered raw data? If it is raw, how should I process the data?

This is the graph that I got from a couple of minutes:

Could you help me analyze this?

Other Questions:
1. What do each of the waves mean in general?
2. What do rising waves mean?
3. What do sinking waves mean?
4. Which brain waves do I look at for stress levels?
5. Which brain waves do I look at for cravings (urge) levels?
6. Which brain waves do I look at for calm state?
Attachments
download.png
download.png (154.44 KiB) Viewed 2145 times
James
Site Admin

Re: How Do I Analyze My Graphs?

Post by James »

#1 - https://choosemuse.com/blog/a-deep-dive ... plained-2/
#2,3 - Higher/Lower power spectral density.
#4,5 - I'm not sure.
#6 - High relative Alpha - If you want a deep dive in this theory, check out the research paper "My Virtual Dream: Collective Neurofeedback in an Immersive Art Environment" by Natasha Kovacevic, Petra Ritter, William Tays, Sylvain Moreno, Anthony Randal McIntosh: http://journals.plos.org/plosone/articl ... ne.0130129
devpatel17

Post by devpatel17 »

Is the graph processed data or is it still considered raw data? If it is raw, how should I process the data?
James
Site Admin

Post by James »

The brainwaves are the processed result (FFT) of the RAW EEG data.
Karthik Mohan